For everything, there is a season

My son is away from home, on his first school camp. Although I’m happy for him, I feel – not melancholy, exactly, but just a little nostalgic.

I adore seeing my kids grow and change and learn, and our relationships deepen – but it also means a slight pulling away, just a bit at a time. And that’s natural, and that’s good, and we all need it (oh, at times, how much my husband and I look forward to it!). At the same time – well. He won’t be the same person as he was at two, at three, at six, and eight. There were some beautiful times then*. Those stages have passed.

He’ll be travelling through new stages in his life – early teenage years, senior years of secondary school, and (gulp), becoming an adult. And more, and more, and so it goes. There will be lots of great experiences ahead, which are wonderful to anticipate.

Of course, the roles my husband and I will play in our son’s life will continue to change – as they should – but we will always be there, in some way. So there’s lots to look forward to. And yet. My feelings are a little mixed, between reminiscing on the times that have past, and excitement to see what is ahead.

Photo Safari

As part of my Blogging with Pip course, we have an assignment – a ‘photo safari’ of the weekend past.

Given how I have been feeling, I’ve included some photos I took from my garden over the weekend. I had a range of photos, of different flowers, but I can’t move past these hellebores. They take my breath away, and I’ll be sad when their no longer in bloom. They’re winter flowers though, and will be replaced by others in the spring.

P1010777

P1010773

P1010776

Testing my point and shoot camera (which has a few little extras).

Who knew how vibrant the colours of a hellebore could be?

 

I absolutely love these flowers! At the same time, it has felt like SUCH A LONG WINTER (particularly as I write this on a cold, drizzly, grey Melbourne day).  And I CANNOT WAIT (of course, I can – but sometimes I feel like I can’t) until spring comes, even though these beautiful hellebores will no longer be around. Yes, the same mixed feeling as I feel seeing my son growing up.

 

 

I guess as a result of writing this, I’m reminded of a saying I heard somewhere. A bit clichéd but nonetheless true because of it:

Appreciate the past, enjoy the present and look forward to the future.

And I’ll continue to enjoyed the present (but I am still looking forward to the stories and the cuddles, when my boy returns!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

* and yes, there were some shockers too (of course), but I’m focused on the good, today. I’m in reminiscent mode, remember!

8 thoughts on “For everything, there is a season

    1. Thank you! The flowers have been stunning this winter, which has helped (a bit) make up for the cold. We are luckily going to Queensland in two weeks – I can’t wait! And Sam has come back full of praise and stories from camp; they all had a great time x

      Like

  1. We have loads of hellebores in our garden too, Helen! And I understand your nostalgia. My boy turned 18 last year and now he’s a uni-going, part time working, driving man! And next year will be my girl’s last year at school! It’s so lovely watching them grow, but there are times I wish I could feel their little hands in mine one more. I still get lots of hugs though! Enjoy watching him grow x

    Like

    1. Wow – yes, a lot further along than my two (we have a boy and girl too, but my daughter is seven and still feels quite little to me). I can imagine the tugging continues (in fact, my mum, on reading this, said she feels the same way with me, so I think it might be part and parcel of parenting). That is lovely that you still have lots of hugs – that gives me a lot of hope!

      As for us, camp is now over, and even though there has been a basketball match per child to fit in after school, we’ve had lots of cuddles already, I’ve had a full rundown of the camp, so I am grateful that he is still at a very open and sharing age. He’s now absorbed in Collingwood’s demolition of Geelong, and I am debating whether he will fall asleep in front of the TV or whether I need to extract him – he’s pretty tired x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Gorgeous flowers and sentiments.
    My dynamic duo (9yr olds) head off to their first ever school camp in a week . I don’t know how I’ll cope. The return home cuddles will be awesome like yours I am sure.

    Like

    1. Thank you! Yes, lovely to have my son home. I hope your two will enjoy their camp just as much, and the cuddles do make it all worthwhile!

      Like

  3. Oh Helen – I can so relate to your boy being away for camp. My number 2 will do the same soon and I am dreading it, I really am. As for your gorgeous photos – they have me practically salivating for Spring. Two more sleeps lovely and Spring is officially here xx

    Like

    1. Spring – I am so looking forward to it!

      And it was wonderful having my son back home – well, for the most part (straight to basketball match, first his sister’s and then his, and he played well, Sat another match, played pretty well and they are through to the finals, and then last night, had a bit of a melt down, threw up EVERYWHERE – we are still drying mattresses, etc – and played in his footy final today. Which they won, which was great, but he didn’t play very well, and has been berating himself). The challenges of someone who is a bit of an introvert and a bit self critical (not that I know anything about that – ahem).

      You boy will love camp, and the best thing is knowing he will be coming back, too (it is lovely to have that anticipation!) x

      Like

Leave a Reply

