When I look at my feet – Oxfam Australia

Oxfam Trailwalker 2016 – It’s time to take a hike, Melbourne!

This time last year, I was getting ready for the longest walk I have ever done. As part of a team of four, we walked 100km through the Dandenong Ranges in a bit under 21 hours. Why? To raise funds for Oxfam Australia, but also to experience one of the most challenging, and rewarding activities I’ve been involved in.

This year, I’ll have quite a different experience. The 2016 Melbourne Trailwalker event runs from  Friday 8 April until Sunday 10 April. On the Saturday morning, I’ll be one of the trail marshalls, helping to guide and encourage those walkers getting near to the end of the walk. It will be amazing to see what they are doing, and I am looking forward to encouraging them along (especially since, as my shift starts on the second morning, they will have been going longer than I did, and that takes such endurance).

It’s just over a week until the Trailwalker starts – I can just imagine how those involved must be feeling! I’d love to encourage you to support Oxfam Australia continue its great work, by supporting its fundraising appeal (more information here).

Plus, I’d love your advice. Oxfam Australia provides broad guidance for the marshalls, and so I have some clear parameters, but I would love to know, from anyone who has been part of an event like this (or even if you haven’t – use your imagination!):

What have the volunteers said or done, in any physically challenging event you have been participated in, that you’ve found the most helpful or encouraging?

I’m looking forward to taking some of your ideas on board!

I look forward to sharing my experiences with you after the event! (and I’ll do a reminder, as well, next week).

Cheers, Helen

Home Base

Team registrations are currently open for Oxfam Trailwalker Perth 2015 50km distance option and Oxfam Trailwalker Melbourne 2016 100km event. As a participant in the 2015 Melbourne Oxfam Trailwalker, here’s my story about why it was such a great event to take part in.

Source:themindfulword.org Source:themindfulword.org

It’s winter, and a cold one too, here in Melbourne. That means my feet are warmly encased in shoes and socks for most of the day, not visible to anyone. Which is a good thing. Frankly, my feet have looked better.

Since completing the Melbourne Oxfam Trailwalker event in April, I’ve lost three nails on my right foot, which are slowly growing back. I have two more nails on the other foot which are black, and on the verge of dropping off too. So gross.

However, the blisters (on my feet and elsewhere) have healed, my feet are no longer swollen, the bruises and aches and pains are long forgotten. And I have recovered from the exhaustion that…

View original post 773 more words

2 thoughts on “When I look at my feet – Oxfam Australia

Leave a Reply

