My one word 2017

image

Happy New Year to you! How good is it to have a few days break? My husband and I are tag teaming with work from our family’s beach house, and even though it’s a bit cold and bleak today, it’s so lovely to have a change of scene. It’s great to shake up a routine once in a while, don’t you think?

One word

It’s particularly useful as I think about how I’m going to give effect to the guiding word I’ve chosen for 2017. This is something I’ve done for the past two years.

In 2015, I chose ‘enough’ (reflecting on the fact that I have, do and am worthy enough). That was helpful in giving myself permission to work out why I didn’t fully believe this – what some of my barriers were. In 2016, I chose ‘progress’ – not looking to set targets that were unrealistic or designed for compassion against others. In some ways that was helpful. But in others, it let me avoid achieving a goal at all – I could continue to be introspective instead. Because I never really defined – clearly enough – what I meant by progress and therefore I never really had to start. I stayed in the works of reflection, spirally around and around.

Managing the fear

This year, it’s time to act. And when I think about that, I feel fearful.

  • What if I fail (against some measure?
  • What if I embarrass myself?
  • What if I let others down?
  • What if I have to experience that unpleasant falling sensation, those knots in my stomach, that scariness?
  • And what if I have to open up, if I have to risk shifting my self opinion, if I have to rely on others, or rely on myself?

When I write this, I realise that these are reasons of avoidance, and they are exactly the reasons I need to address these fears, and the only way I can do so is to trust.

Trust

Trust turns fear on its headIt will mean learning:

  • To trust in my opinions, in my abilities, in my potential to learn and improve.
  • To deepen my relationships, to connect more authentically with others.
  • To allow myself to explore, and not just why I find something hard, but flipping it to the positive.
  • To find out what I do want to and how new experiences can be exciting. How enjoying what we have in a new way can breathe new life into them.
  • And how much bigger and how much more opportunity exists in the world, even if I’ve narrowed it down over the past couple of years.

When I’ve been thinking of my word, I’ve been staring at it a lot.

And I’ve noticed that ‘Trust’ contains the word ‘US’.

I don’t have to do it all on my own.

But it also means opening up more.

  • By really trusting those who I love – and love me – I don’t have to make the choice between doing it on my own or not doing it at all.
  • Friends and family can help each other, brainstorm solutions and step in to guide each other.
  • I also have, in theory, God – if I’d be more open to rebuilding this relationship, which I’ve let slide.

Which also means opening up more. Slightly scaring – but how much richer could life become?

Other One Words for 2017

A lot of us bloggers have chosen a word to guide the year, thanks to leadership of Maxabella Loves.

Pop over to her blog to read up on other great ideas.

Denise Whelan has also created a link up from other bloggers, for more inspirations. Check out her post on ‘kindness’, as well as many other posts!

18 thoughts on “My one word 2017

  1. Trust = ‘us’… you are so right. I truly believe that the more we open ourselves up to others the more we realise two very important things: 1. Nobody is especially that interested in us in the first place (except perhaps our very nearest and dearest); but 2. when we allow ourselves to be vulnerable and give ourselves fully to the world, we are rewarded with abundance.

    I think this is going to be a very good year for you! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think so too – I’m now bedding this word down into some outcomes I’d like to reach, and probably more importantly, working through the routines and mental shifts I’d like to make habitual, so the outcomes will comes. And opening up to others is definitely part of it X

      Like

    1. Thanks Elisa – great choice for you too (I’ve tried commenting on your page without success – and then this keeps capitalising on me, so I’m giving up) but anyway – I really loved his you spelt out the significance and intent of ‘breathe’ for you. I’m sure it will be a great word for you too xx

      Like

  2. I am pleased you settled on this one word which has helped see you become strengthened and resolved by its selection. I so love beach writing by the way…but only when the beach is not crowded. Thanks for joining in #lifethisweek2/52 If you want to see what the prompts are for the next 7 weeks, LIKE the Facebook page for the blog when you check it out! Thanks Helen, good to see your writing again, Denyse

    Like

    1. Thanks Denyse – and yes, I am feeling strengthened. Off to like the blog (or double check – I think I have already, but just in case!) x

      Like

  3. Every one of these I read I deadset go “this is genius, I need to do this!”. So many of us are caught up in fear and doubt, and everyone’s posts reflect this. We all need that little bit of extra courage I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There were some great words this year, weren’t there? I’m finding mine really helpful – it’s a year where trust is really needed in a lot of areas, I think!

      Like

Leave a Reply

